YVES SAINT LAURENT : LINE AND EXPRESSION

FROM 4 MARCH 2023 TO 8 FEBRUARY 2024

It is a great privilege for the Musée Yves Saint Laurent Marrakech to present the exhibition Yves Saint Laurent: Line and Expression [Traits portrait], curated by Olivier Saillard and Gaël Mamine, which explores the rich body of exploratory graphic work by the late couturier.

Both men have strong links with Yves Saint Laurent’s work. Saillard was the curator of the important exhibition Yves Saint Laurent 1971: La collection du scandale, mounted at the Musée Yves Saint Laurent Paris in 2015. It examined a legendary collection that was heavily critiqued by the press when it was unveiled, yet was universally adopted by the public and sparked the retro trend, which continues to resonate within fashion today.

Mamine was Head of Collections and Textiles at the Fondation Pierre Bergé – Yves Saint Laurent and played a key role in the Saint Laurent retrospective at the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts in 2008.

As we delve deeper into the vast repertoire of works left by the great French couturier Yves Saint Laurent, it seems essential that we explore the genesis of his designs by scrutinizing his many preparatory drawings and sketches, today housed at the Fondation Pierre Bergé –Yves Saint Laurent in Paris.

It is there ― within the more than 60,000 sketches and drawings preserved by the Foundation ― that the grand couturier’s vision is so readily grasped through simple and often highly evocative line illustrations. In many, even a type of fabric is implied: the etherealness of chiffon, the shimmer of silk, the textural weave of tweed and sumptuousness of velvet are richly and visibly evoked by simple lines drawn with an 2B pencil.  This distillation of his vision to several rapidly sketched lines allowed for a unique and extraordinary understanding between Yves Saint Laurent and those working in his ateliers, whose vocation was to realize the couturier’s vision.

While looking at these powerful illustrations, which would magically be transformed by the Paris ateliers into mythical creations, it is extremely moving to imagine that so many were drawn during Yves Saint Laurent’s twice-a-year stays in his beloved Marrakech.  It is so fitting, in delving into this rich heritage of drawings and sketches, that these line illustrations are presented for the first time here in Morocco: a line becomes a full circle.

Exhibition curators: Olivier Saillard, Gaël Mamine
Exhibition design: Claudia Huidobro

Press kit :
English
French
Arabic

YVES SAINT LAURENT : TRAITS PORTRAIT

DU 4 MARS 2023 AU 8 FÉVRIER 2024

C’est un grand privilège pour le musée Yves Saint Laurent Marrakech de présenter l’exposition Yves Saint Laurent : Traits portrait conçue par Olivier Saillard et Gaël Mamine, qui explore le riche corpus d’œuvres graphiques préparatoires du défunt couturier.

Tous deux entretiennent des liens étroits avec les créations d’Yves Saint Laurent. Olivier Saillard fut le commissaire de l’importante exposition Yves Saint Laurent 1971 : la collection du scandale organisée au musée Yves Saint Laurent Paris en 2015, qui revenait sur une collection légendaire. Gaël Mamine a été responsable des collections et des textiles à la Fondation Pierre Bergé – Yves Saint Laurent et a largement contribué à la rétrospective Yves Saint Laurent organisée en 2008 au musée des Beaux-Arts de Montréal.

Alors que nous explorons plus à fond le vaste répertoire de créations laissé par Yves Saint Laurent, il apparaît essentiel d’analyser la genèse de ses collections à la lumière de ses nombreux dessins et croquis préparatoires, aujourd’hui conservés à la Fondation Pierre Bergé – Yves Saint Laurent à Paris.

C’est ici, parmi les plus de 60 000 croquis et dessins conservés par la Fondation, que la vision de la mode propre à ce grand couturier français peut être appréhendée de la façon la plus directe qui soit grâce à des illustrations au trait d’une grande simplicité bien que souvent très évocatrices. Dans nombre de ces dessins, même le type de tissu envisagé pour tel ou tel modèle est suggéré de manière implicite : la légèreté de la mousseline, le chatoiement de la soie, la trame épaisse du tweed et la somptuosité du velours sont magnifiquement et ostensiblement évoqués par de simples traits tracés au crayon 2B.

En regardant ces dessins d’une force incroyable qui allaient être transformés en créations mythiques par les ateliers parisiens de la maison Yves Saint Laurent, il est extrêmement émouvant de penser qu’un grand nombre d’entre eux ont été réalisés au cours des séjours que le couturier effectuait deux fois par an dans sa chère ville de Marrakech. Il apparaît donc approprié, lorsqu’on se plonge dans cet extraordinaire fonds de dessins et de croquis, que ces illustrations soient présentées pour la première fois ici, au Maroc : c’est ainsi que l’on forme, à partir d’un trait, un cercle complet.

Commissariat : Olivier Saillard, Gaël Mamine
Scénographie : Claudia Huidobro

Dossier de presse :
Français
Anglais
Arabic